Georgetown Brewing Company – Manny’s Pale Ale

In my quest for Puget’s perfect pint I will leave no stone unturned. Many, many years ago, during my earlier life in sales, I learned how to organize a territory, identify its prospects, and systematically call on each of them. These skills, now put to good use in my quest, have produced a pretty long list of brews. The downside to this is that it will take me a long time to sample all the candidates. The upside to this is that it will take me a long time to sample all the candidates. 🙂

In addition to Seattle’s numerous brewpubs there are several microbreweries that do not operate an on-site pub. They instead distribute directly to local bars and restaurants, but they also sell kegs and growlers (1/2 gallon) at their brewery.

One of these is Georgetown Brewing, the brewer of Manny’s Pale Ale, among others. Of course we don’t only eat out at brewpubs so I have been coming across Manny’s Pale since our earliest days in Seattle. Over time I have come to recognize Manny’s as a consistently high quality pint and as a result have developed quite a taste for it. Whenever I see it on tap, and especially if it’s the only Seattle microbrew available, I’ll usually choose it over any other. Manny’s is a very flavorful, very smooth and refreshing light ale – hoppier than most pales – but not so hoppy as an IPA.

Recently my travels took me close to the Georgetown neighborhood so I decided to pay the brewery a visit and pick up a growler to take home. If you provide your own growler, at $8 for a refill (64 oz), the price is hard to beat. Even better if you buy a prefilled Georgetown Brewing growler at $11 each  – they’re $6 to refill.

Manny’s Pale sells for $4.50 to $5 a pint in the local bars and restaurants, so buying from the source is a heck of a deal. I purchased two growlers – not knowing if there would even be room for both of them in our fridge. As it turned out there was room but still we took care of the first half gallon pretty much the same day.

Take home beer from the brewery is obviously very fresh, but bear in mind it’s not like having bottles or cans. You must refrigerate the growler as soon as you get it home, otherwise the beer may spoil. It should stay fresh in the fridge unopened for 7-10 days. After opening, the beer should be consumed within 2 days.

While visiting the brewery I learned about Georgetown’s new IPA – their first. It’s not being distributed yet; the recipe is still being given some final tweaks; but small batches are being produced and sold. I want to go back ASAP to try a sample and maybe refill one of my growlers and take “Lucille” home. My favorite beers from each brewer sampled so far in my quest have invariably been their IPA or ESB offering – if Georgetown’s Lucille IPA is up to the same high standard as Manny’s – it may turn out to be Puget’s perfect pint.

The map below shows the location of Georgetown Brewing: open it up and you can enter your starting point and get directions by car, foot or bus. The nearest bus stops are on 4th Ave S at S Dawson St. The 4th Ave corridor is served by the MT23 and MT124 routes from downtown Seattle. Incidentally, these routes begin on Seattle’s north side as MT 26 and MT28 so for some people it may be a one-bus ride. However, as much as I would like to further my fueled by beer theme, I have to concede that hand-carrying 1/2 gallon growlers over any distance is not very practical. So a car is pretty much a necessity if you plan to visit and take beer home – which is how I did it. So let’s just agree that after we get our tasty brew home, and before we pour ourselves one, or two, or three, we’ll hang our fake pub sign outside the front door and go for a walk around the block first. 😉

Please feel free to comment

